Oh Starry Night

In honor of Charlie “Doc” Brennan, missing you every day

Oh Starry Night, this is how

I want to Die

With a gentle touch, a clever smile,

and peace in my eye.

As friends remember

stories long forgotten if the youth I’ve always got,

chuckles all around, 

loved one’s eyes tear soaked not.


A long whole life in this pot belly o’ mine,

knowing all remedies

don’t match up to a glass of wine.

To be happy I gave the community some shape,

yet riddled with shots, 

eye-rolling jokes and japes.

Oh Starry Night, with all I have to give,

this is how I know I have lived. 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

